Weekly Meditation: Archetypes, Saints, and gods

So, we come back to the solar plexus chakra. That spinning wheel of fire that is just below the breast bone. The seat of the will.

If you will recall, I have compared previous chakras to the psychologies of certain famous psychologists. The roots chakra with its need for power and control is best represented in the power based psychology of Adler. The sacral chakra with its focus on desire and want matches up quite well with Freud and his statement of how the human psyche responds. Both men were correct when speaking about people who are centered in the root or sacral chakra respectively. And for those centered in the solar plexus chakra the psychologist that best represents the psychology of this chakra is Jung (and in case you’re wondering I mean early archetypal Jung not post mental breakdown later in life Jung.. it’s the psychology I’m saying is correct, all three of these men are actually quite terrible human beings in their personal lives, it doesn’t mean we can’t gleam understanding from them).

Now for a really quick reminder for those of you for whom it has been a while since that Psych 101 course, a good deal of Jung’s psychology dealt with archetypes; symbols and images that represented a complete ideal of a person or greater concept. Archetypes are images and concepts that appear over and over again across cultures and civilizations, but they can also be seen as representations of ideas themselves. For instance in the Bhagavad-Gita every character is an archetypal representation of the different concepts covered in the epic poem. The villains are archetypal representations of fears and desires of the soul, Krishna is a representation of the third-eye chakra (the Christ Chakra as Yogi Paramahansa Yogananda called it) and the central character to whom Krishna speaks, the warrior Arjuna is the embodiment of the solar plexus chakra. (Admit it; you didn’t see how I was going to bring this tangent back to the solar plexus chakra.)

Now if you’re a Hindu this archetype of Arjuna is the model of how you’re supposed to live your life. Arjuna after all, after a moment of doubt, listens to Krishna and goes out and slaughters all of his enemies (fears, doubts, worries, desires, and evil of the ego) to a man…but for most westerners who haven’t read the Bhagavad Gita and the larger work that exists in the Mahabharata (otherwise known as the longest epic poem ever written—it’s longer than the Iliad and Odyssey put together) using Arjuna as a basis for how to live your life is probably not the most efficient archetype to latch onto. Now in the west the more common archetype to latch onto is Christ and that silly statement of “What would Jesus do?” What would Jesus do? He would perform a miracle and give a sermon. Not exactly an option open to most of us. Philosophically the better question to ask is what would (pick your archetype) want me to do?

But if you’re reading this blog, it suggests you might not be so limited to only one archetype. Catholics certainly aren’t, they have a whole list of Saints to call upon. And that’s what calling upon a Saint or angel for help or protection is, it’s asking for a being who represents a certain virtue. For pagan and new agers you have an even wider group of people to call upon (if you’re looking for a specific saint, god, or angel to call upon read Doreen Virtue’s book “Archangels and Ascended Masters” as it has an excellent list of higher beings to call upon and serve as a guide).

These ascended masters you are calling upon will help focus your will and intention in your soul and serve as the archetype for your rational mind to base action on. Now some of you might worry that this smacks of worshiping false gods. No it doesn’t. You can easily call upon God for help at any time. But sometimes you need more focus in your life so you call upon a specialist who serves under god and can help focus your thoughts and intentions. What about when calling on say, Athena or Brigid (both of whom are great to call on for the solar plexus chakra), aren’t those gods from pagan beliefs that have no basis in reality? I figure that somewhere way back in the day there was actually a soul who reached enlightenment, and while we might now refer to these people as saints, thousands of years ago the stories about them turned them into gods (especially after years and years of retelling). You’re still asking for God’s help, you’re just asking for the middle man who specializes in what issues you need help with.

So for this week’s meditation I want you to call upon the goddess Athena in helping to open your third chakra and be more determined in your actions and more in tune with the divine will of your soul.

This may also be a good time to do research on which ascended masters you should be calling upon more often.

Leave a comment

Filed under Chakra, God, Meditation, Solar Plexus Chakra Willpower

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s